A Healthy Sense of Self Worth – 100 Happy Days

A couple of nights ago, I was lucky enough to see John Mayer in concert. I haven’t been to many concerts, so I’m by no means an expert – but this one was pretty good!

Although I love listening to music & watching people perform their hearts out, I have to admit that I also love hearing them talk about their music, their experiences and themselves. I guess you can never tell how honest people are when they give you a glimpse into a window of their soul, but something John said between songs really caught my attention.

“You might be able to tell that I have a pretty healthy sense of self-worth. I play music for one reason – because I should.”

He did elaborate on this statement, going through the journey that a big-time music icon experiences on the road to fame and success – I found myself really listening when he acknowledged that he ‘has it all’, he got his dream, and he’s content with it. Now he just plays music because he loves it – and he should.

I’ve been thinking about what a ‘healthy sense of self worth’ really looks like. I’m not convinced that John Mayer necessarily has it right… but it’s something that none of us can really seem to grasp. For girls in the 21st century, in 2014 – a healthy sense of self worth is really hard to figure out. We’re stuck between ‘modesty’ and ‘full of yourself’, and what is ‘healthy’ is probably somewhere right in the middle.

On one hand, we have the world telling us that we’re not good enough. Why don’t we look like the women on the magazine covers? Why can’t we be as motivated as those fitness junkies on TV? Why don’t we have that person’s eyes, hair, hips, lips? Have you ever felt guilty about feeling good about yourself, or looked in the mirror and actually thought ‘hey – I like how I look today’, but when someone compliments you, you tell them you’re having a bad hair day? Why do we feel the need to devalue ourselves all the time?

Next time you’re proud of yourself – don’t revert to modesty. It’s not stuck up to say, ‘I’m proud of myself because I should be’, or ‘I sing because I should sing’, ‘I ______ because I should.’

Proverbs 3:15 says, “She is more precious than rubies, nothing you desire can compare with her.”

Matthew 10:31 says that, “You are worth more than many sparrows.”

I think the most important thing to remember is that we are valued by God. He made you beautiful because you were made in His image. It might be a cliche in Christian circles, but it’s a cliche for a reason. You’re worth more to God than any other thing that he created – and look around you, creation is a vast and incredible thing. You’re worth more to God than all of that. You are beautiful, precious, loved and valued.

I don’t think John Mayer should be the source of all our wisdom – I don’t agree with a lot of choices he’s made over the years despite being obsessed with his music. But he’s a nice reminder that it’s ok to be proud of yourself, and the things you can do.

photo (38)

–Lauren x

Leave a Reply

