A Little Coffee & a Whole Lot of Jesus – 100 Happy Days

A while ago I saw a quote on Pinterest that says ‘All I need today is a little bit of coffee and a whole lot of Jesus’. I think that’s how I felt today.

Do you ever have those times when you miss someone, even though you’ve ‘seen’ them nearly every day? I’ve had one of those weeks where I’ve found myself saying ‘I miss you’ to someone I saw yesterday… and the day before that. And I think even the day before that. That ‘someone’ flicked me a text message last night to tell me to be ready at 8:30 in the morning for a coffee date and my heart breathed a sigh of relief. There’s a big difference between time and quality time, and sometimes seeing someone’s face just doesn’t measure up to coffee and a heart to heart.

Recently I’ve been feeling a little bit the same about my relationship with God. I ‘see’ him every day… I see him working little miracles in my life, I de-clutter my brain by venting to him throughout the day and send out a little ‘thank you!’ when I notice He’s answered another one of my prayers. Yesterday, after skipping a lecture and arriving late to university I quietly prayed, ‘I know I don’t deserve a good parking spot. I’m not being a good student, and I should know to get here earlier… but please? Please let someone be leaving?’ And sure enough, they did.

It occurred to me today, however, that asking God for things when it suits me isn’t the ‘quality’ time I’ve been craving so much in other areas of my life this week. No wonder I start to feel distant from God when I don’t dedicate a chunk of time to Him every day.

I think we all need a ‘coffee date’ with our creator every now & then. I’d love to start making that more of a priority – it would definitely make for happier days..!


Image

 

— Lauren x

One Comment Add yours

  1. I think God misses us in much the same way. I compared him in a blog to a teacher who has a large class, waiting students to approach Him.

Leave a Reply

