Things – 100 Happy Days

Isn’t it funny how obsessed we are with ‘things’? When I was a kid, those things were definitely dolls – especially my rag doll, Polly. When I went to bed I would line them up next to me in order of how much I loved them, always with Polly cuddled up close. My thinking with all of this, was that if there was a fire and we had to evacuate the house, I could easily grab the things I most loved, and the less loved dolls would be the ones consumed by flames. I remember my devastation when we were evacuated from a hotel on holiday one time and I had managed to grab my doll Molly – but Polly was left to fend the ‘flames’ herself. It turns out that the alarms went off because somebody burnt their toast.

Polly lives on (somewhere in the back of my wardrobe, no doubt), but the things I value are pretty different these days. It’s funny how these things are not of value because of how pretty, expensive or sought after they are, but because of the meaning they hold.

The first Christmas after Peter and I started dating, he bought me an ID bracelet with a verse on it. The verse is 1 Corinthians 13:4-8, and it says;

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonour others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues,they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.”

Over the 5 years we’ve been dating, I’ve lost this bracelet at least 5 times. I never take it off, ever – and it’s one of those things I feel for every now and then, just to make sure it’s there. You can imagine the panic that ensues when all I feel is a bare wrist, and I begin to think, ‘yep… this is the time I actually lose it for good.’

Yesterday morning, I woke up and it wasn’t there. At 5:30 in the morning, I got up and turned my room and bed upside down looking for it. After temporarily claiming defeat and going back to bed, I eventually found it stuck to a fluffy cushion.

I guess the point I’m making, or at least what I’m thinking about, is that I’m not sure what would happen if I ever really did lose my bracelet. It’s a ‘thing’… and we all know that there’s things in life that are far more important than bracelets and rag dolls. Friends, family, beliefs, just to mention a few… I’d like to think that if I ever did lose it for good, I’d have a good cry about it, apologise to Peter about a bazillion times, and move on. Because let’s be honest – we’re not going to be here to enjoy ‘things’ for that long anyway.

The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.” – 1 John 2:17

Image— Lauren x

Leave a Reply

