Looking Up! – 100 Happy Days

Let’s be honest for a second here – our generation is pretty zoned out, don’t you think? Walking around the city, its strange to make eye contact with someone, take in our surroundings and appreciate the moment. Smart phones are smart alright… but I’m not so convinced about the users. We could bump shoulders with royalty and never know, because our chins are down, headphones in, sunnies are on and we’re completely disconnected from the physical world. Well, some of us are.

Recently I’ve been trying to give my Instagram account a little bit of a time out. I still post on it – but not every day. I still flick through it – but once a day. While I love coming up with something funny or meaningful to post on Facebook, I’m trying to break free of the need to post every hilarious thing my friends and family say, or a photo of every good meal I eat. Maybe blogging’s just an excuse for that… we may never know.

Today I was incredibly happy to look UP for a change. With so many things to engage us on our phones, or with uni work, job stuff, or just intense procrastination (Pinterest… you’re to blame here), sometimes we miss the cool stuff.

Look at these clouds! Isn’t that gorgeous? Doesn’t it make you happy? Yes, it may be ironic that I pulled my smart phone out to snap this picture. But the beauty of it is the little reminder I have that I might just be missing out on that little bit extra for having my head down all the time. I think I’ll make this the background on my phone for that exact reason.

Image

From now on, I’m setting myself a challenge. This week I’m going to cancel my gym membership (let’s be honest, it probably wasn’t a good idea for me in the first place), and make a pact with myself to run 3 days a week instead. Instead of staring down at a screen on exercise equipment, I’ll be staring up at THIS! I’m getting excited about it already. I’ll keep you updated… hold me to it!

When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honour. You made him ruler over the works of your hands, you put everything under his feet: all flocks and hers, and the beasts of the field, the birds of the air and the fish of the sea, all that swim the paths of the seas. O Lord, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth!

– Psalm 8:3-9

— Lauren x

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Johna118 says:

    Great website! I am loving it!! Will be back later to read some more. I am taking your feeds also bfcfdgeegbdb

Leave a Reply

