How To: Make a Plain Shirt Fun – 100 Happy Days

I’ve been spending a little too much time on Pinterest (ironic after my last post), but I figure that if some kind of creative ingenuity comes from that ‘well-spent-time’, it’s A-okay by me. If you want to check out my Pinterest for your own inspiration, you can follow it here!

A few days ago I bought a plain old $3 shirt from Kmart with hopes to spruce it up a little bit and have some fun in the process. I’m incredibly lucky to have an awesome Grandma who has the most extensive fabric collection I’ve ever seen – and she gladly let me go through it and pick some prints! Thanks Grandma!

Here’s what I did – and how you can do it too!

Fun Shirt ‘Ingredients’:

  • A cheap T-shirt. NOTE: make sure the fabric is not too stretchy! I like mine a little oversized, and found that the female shirts were made of stretchy fabric – so I bought mine from the men’s section!
  • Some patterned fabric of choice. I went for navy because it looks great with jeans! You could use old fabric from a dress or top you no longer wear!
  • A sewing machine/sewing tools. You can sew by hand but I find a machine neater and quicker
  • A pair of sharp scissors (for cutting fabric and loose threads)

What to do Next:

Cut your fabric. You’ll need two long strips for the sleeves (see photos below!) and one square shaped piece for the pocket. Always overestimate the size you’ll need, and remember you are hemming them, so they will be much smaller than the pieces you originally cut. I double folded tiny little folds along the edges of my strips and then ironed them down so they stayed in place (this is the hem). I then folded my square so it had the little pointed bottom for the pocket, and double folded the edges, ironing them down as well.

Now you’re ready to get sewing! Take one of your strips and sew along both edges (folded hems) to secure them down. Repeat this with the other strip. Wrap this over the cuff of the shirt sleeve. If the sleeves are too long (like mine were), you may want to roll and iron them down first. Fold the edge over once more so that you can’t see any edge when it’s sewed down. Secure the fabric placement with pins, and sew away!

Take the pocket piece and sew along the top edge to secure the fold (hem). Then place the shirt on a flat surface and position your pocket in your place of choice. Make sure that you only pin it to the front fabric of the shirt, or you won’t be able to put it on! Sew on the pocket, being careful not to sew down the top part (so that you can put things in your pocket!), and avoiding the back fabric of the shirt.

Then — you’re done! I won’t lie, I’m not very good at sewing. This took me about 2 hours all up, figuring out logistics and sewing it all on, but I had a blast doing it, and I hope you willΒ too. Here’s some photos of the project along the way, and after it was completed!

Image

Image

Image

I hope you’re having a happy day!

— Lauren x

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. assumptaozua says:

    Great post. I need to get my hands on a sewing machine and give this a try!

    Thanks for following my blog. Stay beautiful and blessed.

    Assumpta x

  2. Renate says:

    This is so awesome! Love love loveeeeee this!
    x

Leave a Reply

