Smoothies, Bed & Uni – 100 Happy Days

Image

This sorry excuse for coffee art is kind of where my heart’s at today – all in tact, but feeling slightly out of whack.

I made a post a while ago that made some kind of comment about how I was happy to be tired, because it meant that I was blessed enough to have a university education. It’s incredibly true that I’m blessed, and I try hard not to forget it. I try especially hard not to on days like today when I’ve written 3000 words and still have thousands to finish before the end of the week!

Today’s happy moment came in 2 parts. The first, was finding an old pillow that makes my bed the most perfect, comfiest and warmest study spot in my whole house. To be honest, you should learn from my mistakes and never study in bed. It’s bad practice, and it’s so comfortable that once you start, you will never stop… but I’m happy being stuck in my ways, and feeling just the teeniest bit rebellious every time I tuck myself in with my laptop.

Part 2 of said happy moment, was making myself a smoothie… and proceeding to take it back to my little study haven under the covers. As I mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been trying to run at least three times a week (which I’ve mostly been achieving, even if only twice a week), but my essay and it’s impending due date unfortunately deprived me of that today. For some strange reason, drinking a smoothie with fruit in it actually made me feel better about this (NOTE: do not replace exercise with fruit!). In case you’re interested, here’s how:

What you need:

  • 1/2 cup almond milk (you can use any milk… almond milk’s just a phase I’m going through)
  • 4-5 table spoons of vanilla yoghurt
  • 1 table spoon of honey
  • 1/2 – 2/3 cup of frozen fruit (I chose banana and strawberries)

Note: measurements are approximate, experimentation is great!

What to do next:

Put it in some kind of blender – and blend! Depending on how powerful your blender is, you may want to thaw the fruit out a little bit first.

 

I hope you’re having a good day – do something to spoil yourself, and don’t forget that you’re blessed.

— Lauren x

Leave a Reply

