That ‘Tea and Cake’ State of Mind

I dare you to stop reading here and make yourself a cup of tea – I know you probably won’t (because hey, who has time for that?) but at least get yourself in that cosy sat-down-with-a-cup-of-tea state of mind.

photo (88)As I ran out the door yesterday with 6 places to be in under 24 hours, it occurred to me that my life is a little bit crazy. Sometimes, being a girl and having the ability to simultaneously think and do about a million things at once can be rather useful – and sometimes it stresses the heck out of us. I have a theory that there’s a little space in our brain that’s meant to be left blank, just for the purpose of keeping us sane. We leave time in our day, or a drawer in our desk free for the same reason – but when life gets a little bit too hectic that space gets overcrowded and we tend to go crazy. When we do get that little bit of free time, our heads are still so full of all the things we need to do that we never truly get to relax.

Although we’re bad at knowing where to stop, God knows when we need a break. Why? Because even the creator of the world recognised that 6 days of hard work meant that a day of pure, heavenly relaxation was in order. Where better to find rest than with the one who practiced it first?

Psalm 62:1-2 “My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him. He alone is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.”

I’m not the best at remembering to set aside time with God & time for rest – but I’ve found that if I can do these at the same time, my time with God and my rest time are more beneficial. We’re all different and we do that in different ways. For me, it’s tea and the occasional slice of cake. That could be at home, in bed, at a coffee shop, or even on the daily commute to school or work if you catch a train or bus. Whatever gets you relaxed – do it, and make some time for the guy who set the standard.

I’ll be posting some regular devotional-style posts if you need a place to get started!

— Lauren x

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. ronboviscous says:

    Wonderful blog. 🙂

  2. I enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning with a crepe or some other sweet carb, relaxing with the Lord at the same time. During the years of having a job, I often drove to McDonald’s, ordered a lunch to go, and sat in my car to eat it and spend time alone with Jesus. Life is more hectic during the years we must juggle home life, school, or a job.

    Delightful post, Lauren. Blessings to you…

    1. Lauren says:

      Carol, that sounds like perfection! I love escaping in my car as well. It’s like having your own little bubble to hang out in and get some space, & I love praying out loud when I’m driving alone.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! Your blog is lovely 🙂 God bless! x

  3. Crystal Ann says:

    Lauren,
    Beautiful writing! And beautiful thoughts about getting alone with the Lover of our Souls, to be refreshed and re-fueled. Thank you for visiting and following my blog! God’s blessings to you. 🙂
    Crystal

    1. Lauren says:

      Hi Crystal!

      Thank you so much for your encouragement. Your blog is great, I really enjoyed reading it today! Looking forward to more posts in the future.

      God bless! x

  4. LouLou says:

    Gorgeous blog Lauren! One we all need to remember constantly! I’m forever hectic but there really is nothing better and more refreshing than being still with God.

    Much love
    Lou x @soul.purpose x

  5. Mary Blowers says:

    Very nice, Lauren! Although it is “simply sweet” it is not overly drippy or, worse yet, condescending or judgmental. None of that “I can take time, why can’t you?” that is so discouraging. Keep up the good work.
    As an aside, I hope you’ll submit something to my (free!) anthology project http://wp.me/p1S9qY-dT.
    (Going to have a cup of tea now!)

  6. Donna says:

    I’m enjoying browsing through your blog on a return visit! It’s wonderful, and I hope to share it with some young friends of mine. Thank you for visiting and following mine, too. May God bless you and use you wonderfully!

  7. Mel says:

    I am appreciative for you liking my post because it led me to your blog! I love this post!! I can always use a reminder to rest, and to really rest in God! Thanks for your words. I look forward to continuing to read.

  8. Mary Mageau says:

    What a delightful blog you have created – filled with inspiring and uplifting thoughts. May we all take tea together and spend manhy quiet moments in reflection with the lover of our souls. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  9. ruthiespage says:

    Loved the tea and cake! I’m from Mississippi, and here we only drink iced tea! but that will do as I enjoy reading what you have to say. I’m stopping for a moment to rest! Love Sabbath rest

Leave a Reply

