Little Devotions: A Love That Makes My Heart Cry Out

Optional Reading:

– Psalm 139

– 1 Corinthians 13

Sometimes I wonder if we can ever understand the vastness of God’s love for us. I’ve never been able to grasp the concept that our God is so big, so eternal and so present that he never wasn’t… he’s always been there, and he’s always existed. I think His love, in this same sense, it too great for us to wrap our heads around and it makes me want to cry with a strange mix of gratitude, reciprocated love and utter confusion.

IMG_6748I love Psalm 139. It talks about how intimately God knows each of us, and in verse 6 it says, ‘such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too lofty for me to attain.’ Though the way that God knows and loves us is definitely ‘too lofty for me to attain’, here’s what I do know: God’s love is beautiful, bold, big and above all, it’s an undeserved blessing.

When we were younger, Peter gave me an ID bracelet with ‘1 Corinthians 13:4-8’ engraved into it. You may have heard of the verse… it tends to be read at a lot of weddings, or quoted when talking about romance. ‘Love is patient, love is kind…’ but it’s not talking about that kind of love. It’s the perfect demonstration of how to love, because it’s an example of how God loves us. It sounds straight forward… being patient, kind, not envying, boastful, proud, dishonouring, self-seeking,  easily angered or keeping records of wrongs. We all try to do these things, surely – but this verse says that TRUE love, always does these things.

It’s no secret that we are a mess. We start wars – not only the big ones in history and on TV, but mini-wars in our hearts and our homes and in our friendships. God notices our impurities and he gets angry and upset when we disobey or ignore Him, but as 1 Corinthians 13 says, his love is an always love that is entirely unconditional. Unlike friends, or possibly family, He doesn’t walk away from us, ignore us, or forget about us.

I wrote a post about being gracious a few days ago (you can read it here). One of the easiest ways to learn how to be gracious is to attempt to view people as God does. Each person we see, know, meet, is someone that God knitted together himself… he made them intricately unique, special, beautiful and unconditionally loved.

I hope we can strive to live out this impossible love as well.

— Lauren x

18 Comments Add yours

  1. This a wonderful write Lauren…one that expresses how I’ve often felt concerning God’s awesome infinity and pure and precious love! Psalm 139 means so much to me. God’s love truly comes through in the warm way you have shared this write. May He continue to bless you 🙂 Christine

  2. Lisa says:

    I enjoyed reading this post! There are no words that can properly define God’s great love! Thank you for sharing yoir thoughts. Thank you for reading and following my blog! God Bless:)

  3. Kim David says:

    Lauren, you say you have a hard time comprehending God’s love. Perhaps no one can truly grasp the magnitude of His love. Nonetheless, I can’t help but to admire your purity and devotion towards Him! “Simply Sweet” suits you perfectly…

  4. Merryn says:

    I love Psalm 139 too! One of my favourites :). Thankyou for the follow :). I look forward to reading more of your posts – you write really well!

  5. This was very, very helpful for me, since one of the things I struggle with as a Christian is loving others unconditionally and the way that God loves us. Thank you for this reminder!!!!

  6. Great post, Lauren. Thank you for reminding me about loving others like God loves us. God loves the unlovable. Thank you also for visiting my blog too. 🙂

  7. Merryn says:

    Thankyou so much for your inspirational writing – I want to recognise your blog with A Very Inspirational Blogger Award. No obligation to participate, but if you have the time and you would like to, head over to my page at http://humbleheartscribbles.wordpress.com/2014/09/06/thankyou-a-very-inspiring-blogger-award/ and you will find the instructions there.

    1. Lauren says:

      Thank you Merryn! I’d love to take part in it! I appreciate your nomination. I love your blog as well 🙂

      1. Merryn says:

        You’re very welcome! I’m looking forward to checking out your list of nominees :). Take your time- there’s no expiry date on the award :). You can save the logo image from mine or another blog.

  8. seeingdeep1 says:

    Lovely thoughts and blog. You provoked worship of our Great God with the description of your response in consideration of how awesome our Eternal God is.

  9. cherylfoston says:

    Hi Lauren,
    Thank you, for reading and becoming a follower of my blog. I am honored! I am enjoying your post as well and yes, we have such an AWESOME God who is full of wonder and such splender. Keep up the wonderful writing. 🙂

  10. stefanoe2014 says:

    It’s great to see how other people see God! I agree with you on everything said here! ^_^

  11. kobe21jason says:

    Inspirational. Thank you for sharing

  12. Lauren, thank you for reminding us of what true love is. Being like Christ requires complete surrender to the work of the Holy Spirit in our life and so bit by bit we struggle and learn to love like Him.

  13. SARA says:

    Lovely post and very inspiring.
    The message at the end of your post is wonderful. I loved it.

  14. Lovely. Psalm 139 is one of my favorites, too. BTW, thank you for the follow. Blessings, A.

  15. mardiyeary says:

    I love the freshness and purity of your posts; but you aren’t naive. Big wars and mini wars are started by being unloving and greedy. God is looking on and it makes his heart so sad. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

