On Being Ambitious

Oh, it’s delightful to have ambitions. I’m so glad I have such a lot. And there never seems to be any end to them– that’s the best of it. Just as soon as you attain to one ambition you see another one glittering higher up still. It does make life so interesting.

― L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green GablesDSC01842

How beautiful is this quote? Sometimes I think about the crazy bucket list I have in my head and think that I need a reality check. How am I meant to travel, graduate, work, write, make music, have a family etc. etc. etc…. there are so many things that I want to do in life, and definitely not enough time to do them all. Am I just setting myself up for disappointment?

Over the last few years, I’ve had the opportunity to cross a number of BIG things off my ‘list’. I went overseas for the first (and second!) time, visited a new state in Australia, worked a job that I love and made new friends at university – but along with these things I’ve experienced disappointment (often with myself) about missed opportunities and lost ambitions. At the end of the day, it comes down to this: when God closes a door (or we miss the opening) he’ll open a window. I know it sounds sort of cliché, but I’m a big believer that cliché’s are what they are for a reason.

Finishing uni this semester is putting a number of new questions in my mind. Will I get a job in my chosen field? Will I have to move far away? What else does next year hold? Some of these things are hard, I won’t lie. Jobs in journalism and publishing are far and few between, and the realist in me is screaming out ‘WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO?!’ while the planner in me yells, ‘you’ve always had a plan… what’s the plan now?’

Sometimes, uncertainty is beautiful when it comes to ambition. It frees us up to dream, to stop us limiting ourselves, to be wonderfully ignorant and try our best to achieve the things we want, or feel that we’re meant to do in life. I think uncertainty also forces us to trust and to pray with confidence. 

As L.M Montgomery said, ambitions do ‘make life so interesting’.

— Lauren x

26 Comments Add yours

  1. stefanoe2014 says:

    I love your style! ❤ And the way you think! Amen to the God always making a way fact!

    1. Lauren says:

      Thank you!! 🙂 x

      1. megmichelle says:

        I love Anne of Green Gables so much. I’ve read almost the whole series throughout my years, and I wish I had half of her moxie.

  2. I had never read that quote before, but I love it! It pretty much sums up my life and desire to write in glory to God.

    1. Lauren says:

      It’s funny, I have read Anne of Green Gables a couple of times (such classic books!) but never picked up on how many beautiful one-liners it has. I stumbled upon this quote somewhere last week & it inspired this post!

      Glad you could stumble upon it here & relate to it too! x

    2. Lauren says:

      Also – may God really use your desire to write so that He’s glorified! That’s such a big & wonderful desire.

  3. Jody says:

    Hi thank you for visiting my blog and leading me to yours, I loved reading this post and don’t think at all that you’re setting yourself up for disappointment. I myself am actually thinking the same thing – I’m studying at uni, working part time, trying to write and I also want to travel all sorts of money, save money to get there, buy a house, get married and start a family! Madness, how are we supposed to do all that?! But it’s not impossible and I think being ambition just takes a lot of self-discipline and organisation 🙂

    1. Lauren says:

      Hey Jody 🙂 Ahhh, it is total madness, I agree! But I think you’re right, it’s definitely not impossible! It’s so encouraging to hear that other people are in similar situations to me as well. Life is so crazy sometimes, and we have sooo many dreams! I hope you get around to that great list of things you want to do 🙂 x

  4. esse636 says:

    Ambitions certainly do make life more interesting!

  5. Lauren, keep your ambitions alive. You may not accomplish them all, but I think one big key to living the life God intends is to keep our feet on the gas, keep rolling. Not even God can steer a car that’s not moving. Eventually you’ll fulfill a number of ambitions; planned and unplanned. Blessings to you!

  6. uturnstars says:

    Whatever you end up doing, rest assured that it will be exactly where God wants you for that season. Don’t be afraid to dream, or you will not strive to achieve more.

    Thanks for following my blog and helping me to stumble across yours. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts!

  7. beverley says:

    I believe that we are always in the right place at the right time doing the right thing, but some times we need to wait until we can look back on in to see it.

  8. tambumc says:

    I like your blog Missy!! 😍✨

  9. kayed says:

    Lauren, thank you so much for liking and following my blog, thus leading me to yours. Your blog is so refreshing and vibrant. I’m an older Christian (also a senior citizen PTL!) and just want to encourage you to cherish each milestone, each goal achieved, and be thankful for God’s intervention in those areas He prevents because He knows the outcome would not be for your best. As for writing, I too am an author, and would encourage you to study the magazines you’d like to write for. Pay attention to the style in which the articles are written, the types of products they advertise, thus being able to determine the audience that publication appeals to. Also, go to your local library and peruse The Writers’ Market. It has a listing of every publication, publisher, and agent out there. It lists the guidelines, who to contact, etc. It is a wealth of information. Sorry this is so lengthy, but really wanted to help. God bless.

  10. Love your heart–and your writing. Thanks for subscribing. 🙂 I have no doubt that with your eyes and obedience set upon HIM, you’ll go wherever He leads you. Small world–literally. Just last night I came across a Christian speaker online, who I’m now so enjoying listening to. Was listening to her podcast this morning when WordPress notified me of your email. The small world part: she’s from Australia! 🙂 Your post reminded me of the podcasts I was just listening to from her site (“Recognize Divine Invitation” and “Dreaming with God”). Passing along. Coincidence. (OR not. 🙂
    http://www.katherineruonala.com/podcasts/

  11. I just can’t help but point out what’s cool about that picture: that’s the tunnel they used in The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian movie when the Pevensies get transported from the train station. I’m such a huge Narnia nerd, I recognized it instantly. Thumbs up on this post 😀

    1. Lauren says:

      Hey!! Ahh I’m so glad that somebody noticed! My friend took this photo of me jumping in it. We took a trip to NZ last year and we named the trip ‘Project Narnia’ because we were so excited to visit this place! I recently submitted the story of how we went to Cathedral Cove to another blog called She Has Worth. If they end up publishing it, I’ll send you a link! It was the most amazing experience 🙂

      Thanks for reading my blog!! Yours is beautiful 🙂 x

  12. cdukulele says:

    Ah, you remind me that I need to pray more. So much ambition, so many options, and no idea where to go. Thanks for the reminder.

  13. Ericko Tandayu says:

    I’m totally agree. Maybe in my own version is more to Passion rather than Ambitions. My ambitions is driven by my passion. Great blog by the way mate!

  14. SARA says:

    You have a wonderful blog. I love the quote very much.
    Wonderful Post too.

  15. realchange4u says:

    Dream Lauren and trust God. It’s good that life places us in a position to be in God’s will. Live a full life serving and blessing those around you. Your bucket will always be full. I lost my daughter Kelly if you don’t mind me saying. She worked in a ministry for adolescents called Teen Challenge. She lived life large and loud.
    I love to see young people living life. God speed
    Lauren.

    Much love Tom

  16. uju says:

    I think the beauty of not limiting ourselves to all these things we’ve planted in our heads is that when God shows us His own plans, no matter how out-of-our-way they are, we are open to possibilities of growth, success and the happiness He’s planned for us.

    I loved reading through some of your posts Lauren. Thank you for stopping by my blog and dragging me to yours 🙂

    Blessings

  17. Having ambitions makes sure you won’t lose sight of your plans as you go through a journey full of crossroads and detours. I’m glad you’ve been able to check some items off your bucket list. Keep going, pursue the rest and add some more as you go! I would like to ask though, where was the photo taken?

    1. Lauren says:

      I agree! The photo was taken in Cathedral Cove (Coromandel, Hot Water Beach, New Zealand). It was on the bucket list as well! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      1. I see. That place looks amazing! Thanks for sharing as well.

Leave a Reply

