Don’t Forget Your Girlfriends!

IMG_7243

IMG_7245

We’ve all heard the story, or felt the feeling. Girl meets boy, flirting ensues, girl’s time get’s taken up and, well… her friends can pretty much say goodbye. She doesn’t have time for coffee, or chatting, or any of the things she used to do with her friends. Having a boyfriend is lovely, don’t get me wrong. If the right guy wants to be a part of your life, you share the same values and he’s a keeper then go for it! Just don’t forget about the people who cared about you first.

When I first started dating, Peter and I were hanging out with the same group of friends. Our ‘group’ would catch up most weekends, and I went to school with most of them. Because Peter didn’t go to my school, it was easy to spend quality time with my girlfriends, and I didn’t have to worry too much about accidentally distancing myself from anyone. As time passed, I realised that friendships don’t build themselves.

In Australia, people don’t tend to move away for university or college unless they live in ‘the outback’. When I graduated from high school and went into university, I still lived within a few kilometres of most of my closest friends, but catching up with people was harder than I expected. Once Peter finished school I found myself enjoying our free time and wanting to spend more and more of it with him – we’d never seen each other on weekdays, and it was exciting being able to drop in or meet up whenever we wanted to. It doesn’t take a genius to pick up on subtle hints from close friends – when people start saying, ‘I miss you, I never see you anymore’, it’s time to make a change.

One of the best things I did last year was to take a trip with one of my closest friends. We took off to New Zealand and road-tripped around the North Island. We read a book together, prayed together, screamed songs at the top of our lungs and went on some incredible and crazy adventures. Just like you have to spend quality time with your boyfriend/family/spouse, you have to spend quality time with your girlfriends. That means taking time out for one another, not just catching a ‘hello’ at church, or talking on Facebook. For me, joining a girls’ bible study was also one of the best things I’ve done. Having time to be mentored and be accountable to other women and enjoy ‘sharing life’ together is so important, whether that’s in a spiritual way or otherwise.

If you’ve only invested your time and emotional energy into one person, then who are you going to turn to if everything falls apart? Boys play a big part in our lives, don’t get me wrong – but your girlfriends can’t be replaced with one single guy. Don’t just tell your girlfriends about your life, actually let them be a part of your life. You’ll thank each other for it later.

A friend is one with whom you are comfortable, to whom you are loyal, through whom you are blessed, and for whom you are grateful.
William Arthur Ward

— Lauren x

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Very true! Cheers to all our girlfriends!!! 🙂

  2. Virginia says:

    Wow! This is so true! I wholeheartedly believe in keeping friendships. Thank you for posting! 🙂

  3. What a beautiful group of young ladies there. Ready to take on the world. What God (and you) have joined together may no man put asunder. Enjoy your moments ladies…they are what this life is all about. Thank you for this great post.

  4. laurah88 says:

    Love this Lauren. It’s so true! And I think it’s particularly important when you are still at uni/majority of your friends live close by.
    These days I don’t have a lot of girlfriends my age that live close by, but because we spent so much quality time together when we were at uni/before we got married/started working full-time/everyone moved away, when we do hang out it’s like we saw each other the day before. It’s great!

  5. sarahmarjoriee says:

    Love this!! I’ve totally had the whole boyfriend takes time away from girlfriends issue. Thanks for posting. 🙂

  6. You are wise beyond your years. Keep your sisters close – they will always own real estate in your heart. Liking your blog! Have a blast with it. 🙂

  7. kayzag says:

    I have had friends who decided to conceal the fact that they are dating a guy…but it still shows because their talk and actions prove it. There was absolutely nothing they could really hide from me and were always impressed that I always somehow had that intuition and knew. But it it’s true, things kinda do change when your friends sort of become invisible just because they have a guy in their life. There is the beauty in a friendship when girls have the privelage to share with each other the moments that guys won’t understand. Love your post!

  8. realchange4u says:

    Well put Lauren. I enjoyed your post. It holds a lot of truth. Its good to see young folks have such clarity in their life’s. Be blessed.

  9. Meg Michelle says:

    I just had a sleepover last night with two of my girls and we stayed up until 4 am. It’s so refreshing. Another thing I’ve realized to be relaxing is actually talking on the phone for an hour or so. Friendships are so important.

  10. Thanks Lauren! A good read, and very true – even more so for married couples. Being blissful in a relationship one van easily get isolated and do damage to song friendships by adsence. So when the tires come off you find that those who used to be good friends have moved one and you have grown apart. Bit simply sharing a coffee or a meal, abs including friends in your outings regularly fosters deep relationships.
    You have good insight. Keep writing these practical and inspirational posts, please!

    1. My phone did some creative auto – corrections with this comment, sorry.

Leave a Reply

