Room Decor

DSC02959

DSC02961

DSC02966

DSC02965

I thought I might post something a little bit more on the ‘girly’ side of things today. Interior design is something I’ve always loved dipping my toes in, and when it comes to my little space, I love being creative and making it feel warm and homey.

One of my favourite things in my room is this dressing table. It’s the first thing you see when you walk in the door, and it’s full of special little things that I’ve collected over years and years. When I moved into this room a couple of years ago, I kept a lot of the things from my old room and rearranged them. Here’s a little ‘dressing table tour’, and tips for personalising your room.

The Dressing Table

My parents bought me this furniture for my old room, years and years ago. It has 6 drawers (5 of which hold my clothes) and I keep little decorative things and all of my jewellery on top. Decorating is really easy if you have a theme – I chose mint green and purple, and tried to use things that reflected or went with these colours.

My biggest tip for decorating is use stuff that you already have, and arrange it in a way that looks nice. You don’t have to spend a lot of money to make something look beautiful. The very first time Peter gave me flowers, they came in a white wicker box. This box is now used for all the little bits and pieces I use regularly. I keep my nail polish in an oversized mug that I bought from Kmart for $1, the picture frames are birthday gifts from friends, the candle holders were gifts from my brothers and the jewellery box with ‘Lauren’ on it was a special present from my Dad for a birthday when I was a teenager. Using things you have, that have meaning for you, makes it so much more personal.

I hope this has given you a little bit of inspiration for decorating your own room. If you have similar posts, link them below! I’d love to see what your creativity looks like.

— Lauren x

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks great! I especially love that box from your dad 🙂

  2. lolsy254 says:

    This is beautiful and great advice too!

  3. Meg Michelle says:

    I adore the box at the bottom. I love to decorate as well. I rearrange my makeup table often. I actually have a weekly makeup box.

Leave a Reply

