‘Life Groups’ – A Chat with Kiryn

I remember the first time I ever met Kiryn. She was the cheeky big sister of one of my best friends. Anjli and I were in Kindergarten, and Kiryn was in Year 2 – I distinctly remember playing in the school grounds during lunch time when Kiryn came up to me and said, ‘hey, I think it would be good if you went and played in those bushes up there’. It didn’t take me long to realise that she thought it would be funny to send me into the ‘out-of-bounds’ area, and I quickly got in trouble and was sent away to play in another area of the playground. Little did I know then, that I would grow up to love and respect this incredible woman as much as I do now.

A little over a year ago, Kiryn took on the role as my life group, or bible study leader. She did such a good job at it, and put her heart and soul into our group. It was both hard and exciting to see her leave our group and travel to the other side of the country to pursue mission work for a season, and it’s so good to have her back home. She has an incredible journey, and a lot of wisdom to share – so here’s a little post from Kiryn!

~     ~     ~

Is is beneficial to be in an all girls group?

I don’t think it matters, as long as you are being supported by other christians.

Why is it called a ‘life group’? What do you do?

Relationship is the most important part of being a Christian, that is relationship with God and relationships with others. Life groups are all about purposefully putting aside time to deepen your understanding of God and to really encourage other Christians.

What is most special to you about your life group?

We have book swap nights, we sewed bags for Bangladesh, we encouraged young women in our community, we learnt about the biblical history of mandrakes! We made fairy bread at church and made sure we spilled all the 100’s and 1000’s on the carpet – and we eat lots of garlic bread!!! Haha!

I had really hoped that the girls in my life group would grow in their understanding of God and support one another through prayer. Those were my two aims and with in a very short time I released I should have written down more aims!

As time went on, they all developed a deeper and more intimate relationship with God and were praying for one another, taking time to have important life altering conversations with one another, and reaching out to the community around them, both together and in their own time.

I always felt a strong love for all of the girls and was so sad to leave them to go into missions but I was incredibly touched by their encouragement for me to be pursuing God’s desire for my life.

While on mission I became incredibly sick, with life threatening complications. My life group was a constant source of encouragement and I felt incredibly supported as each of them contacted me personally to tell me they were praying for me, members of my life group supported my family by making them meals which was such a blessing! When I was transferred home, these beautiful women sat with me in hospital and in waiting rooms, even holding my hand through tests.

Life is messy, but God is constant and his love is wide and long and high and deep! Life is always better when there are friends holding your hand through the joys and sorrows of life, listening, praying and supporting you to seek God in every season.

Leave a Reply

