Wedding + Engagement Updates!

DSCN0631

Peter took this picture of my ring earlier this year while we were in Munich, Germany. For me, pictures evoke feeling even more than words, and just seeing this photo fills me with so much excitement for the future and emotional memories about the night we got engaged (which now feels like a lifetime ago)! I thought that in honour of reaching the 50-days-to-go mark, I’d write a chatty little wedding post. If it’s not your thing, I won’t be offended if you stop reading now!

As much as I don’t want to admit it… I get the stress thing. I understand the frantic run-arounds, the freak outs, the ‘let’s get out of here and elope before I go insane’ moments (you get me?), although I think I’ve been incredibly blessed in avoiding as much stress as humanly possible! My wonderful family and friends have been amazing in hazard avoidance, and in trying to make this a time of life that is exactly what it’s meant to be. Fun! If I could give one piece of advice regarding weddings, it’s this: surround yourself with people who you love, and who you trust with your sanity. Pray lots, involve your guy in as much stuff as he’ll put up with, and don’t forget to keep investing in your relationships!

With 50 days to go, I’m feeling it all. I’m so unbelievably excited to be married to Peter, I can’t wait to go on our first little holiday, just the two of us, and I’m so excited to move into our new home. While that’s amazing, I’m also coming to terms with moving out of my family home and potentially moving quite far away from everyone in 6 months time as Peter and I pursue his post graduate studies in another state.

As for now, we’re hard at work making invitations (there’s a post coming after the wedding on how we made those!), finishing little details, doing suit & dress fittings and all the fun stuff. Tomorrow is our 6 year dating anniversary, & I couldn’t be more proud of how far we’ve come or of the stage of life we find ourselves in.

If you want to keep up with all the craziness as it unfolds, I’ll put mini-updates on Instagram (click here!) & you can follow me @simply_sweet_blog. If you’re more Facebook inclined, you can find me here!

Lastly, a little reminder verse that I’m growing more and more in love with everyday – especially as someone who tends to worry, stress and lack patience! Ephesians 4 verse 2.

Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.

I hope you’re having a lovely week!

Lauren xx

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Ani says:

    AWWW! Congratulations!!

  2. NParekh says:

    Hello Lauren,
    I accidently stumbled upon your blog a few months back when I was googling for wedding blogs and I haven’t missed a blog of yours since. They have a personal touch to them and make me feel like I am living your experience. I also like the way how you keep it simple and stick to the facts.

Leave a Reply

