Favourite Summer Outfits

I’m not much of a fashion blogger, but I would be lying if I said I’d never thought about including a fashion tab at the top of my blog. Something about fashion posts have always made me feel materialistic and shallow, but the more I think about it, the more I think we can outwardly express joy about ‘stuff’ without putting ‘stuff’ on a pedestal. Does that make sense? I hope so.

I’ve really enjoyed my wardrobe this summer. I got a few new bits for my birthday and Christmas, and it’s amazing what a few new pieces and some op-shop finds can do to liven up your outfits. I’m currently re-experimenting with a rather expanded version of a capsule wardrobe, with a considerable amount of cheating. So I don’t get overwhelmed by options, or lose things in my wardrobe, I put away all of the things I definitely won’t be wearing in Winter, or don’t wear regularly (e.g. ski jacket, year 12 formal dress, uni graduation dress and a bridesmaid dress from last year). I wasn’t sure if it would make a difference, but I can already tell that it’s made choosing what to wear so much easier, and it generally feels less cluttered and more spacious.

Since I’m far from comfortable with modelling outfits (not to mention my general awkwardness in photos), I decided it would be a good idea to show you my favourite summer outfits by laying them on our bed and precariously balancing on a stool while leaning to get a straight shot. Not a method I would recommend, but somewhat successful nonetheless! I’ll try and link as many of the clothes as possible; however, some of them are old and unavailable. I tend to hold onto things for a long time! If that’s the case, I’ll link to the brand’s website so you can find something similar.

image1 (1)

I fell in love with this dress in a direct factory outlet a couple of months ago. It was half price, but still more than I wanted to pay for a dress… then when I went in again a week later they had one left (my size) and it was 25 percent off the marked price. Win! It’s a Princess Highway dress which, after a lot of correspondence and research, I can happily say meets some pretty decent ethical standards. The hat is from Forever New, my glasses are Country Road, the watch is by CLUSE (they do stunning watches), and my EOS shoes were a total bargain. They’re 100% Italian leather, and I bought them brand new for $30, discounted from $150. Possibly the best bargain I’ve ever found!

image1 (4).JPG

I think I may have worn this outfit to death this summer. These jeans have been a staple, and such a great find. They’re by a store called Dejour Jeans which is a local store for us here in Melbourne. The denim is made a couple of streets away, and the jeans are sold locally in the kind of store you have to line up for just to get in! The best part is that they’re $55, with free alterations in under 24 hours. My denim jacket is Dangerfield, the sunglasses are Collette Dinnigan, and the top is Paper Scissors. I bought this top with a friend in New Zealand almost four years ago, and it’s still going strong! The Geox sandals were once again a bargain – I picked them up (unworn) from an op-shop for $6, and Google tells me they’re worth $139, so I figure that’s not a bad deal! Lastly, this beautiful Mimco wallet goes with just about everything I wear.

image1 (2).JPG

Let’s ignore the ‘lack of ironing’ theme that seems to be running throughout these pictures! This dress is a definite favourite, and again, it’s from Princess Highway (surprise). It has the prettiest wooden buttons, and sweet cap sleeves that you can’t quite see under the Dangerfield jacket. My leather mini block wallet is by The Horse, and the shoes are by a brand called Dexflex.

image1 (3).JPG

Living in Melbourne, the weather seems to have a mind of its own. We had quite a few cooler days this summer, but I was glad for the opportunity to pull out this jumper I got for my birthday last year! It’s Princess Highway again, and the jeans are Dejour. I love the mix of a slightly cropped jumper with mid rise jeans, especially with a black singlet tucked in underneath. My shoes are (very old) Converse All Stars that I bought about five years ago. They’ve been filthy for years, and although the care instructions clearly state DO NOT MACHINE WASH, I figured I wouldn’t wear them unless they were clean. The results were fantastic, and even after all these years, they’re still going strong. Lastly, the bag was from a Hillsong Colour Conference I attended in 2015, which I often use as a handbag. Working from home means that I sometimes get the opportunity to sneak out and work at a coffee shop, and this is the perfect way to carry all the bits and pieces I need without taking my good work bag.

I hope you’ve found this little insight into my wardrobe interesting! I’d love to hear about the outfits you default to in summer.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

