A Decision to be Gracious

Being gracious isn’t always easy – and to be honest, it’s not always natural for me. Throughout my life I’ve too often come across as the sweet, innocent girl who over apologises and never gets offended by anything. While this is how I come across outwardly (mostly by choice), what’s going on in my heart can be quite the opposite. In fact, I’m pretty quick to anger.

Today I went to get a tyre changed on my car. They told me that I needed 2 new tyres, that it would come to a total of nearly $300 and that they didn’t have any in stock so I would need to drive to a different tyre place to get them done. Taking it in my stride, I drove into town and dropped off the car. Soon after, I received a call – “you didn’t give us the lock nut key”. I thought to myself, The what? What’s a lock nut key, and why don’t I have one? After 15 minutes they called to notify me that they’d found it and they could change the tyres after all.

When I returned, I remembered that I needed to keep the better of the 2 tyres as an emergency spare. I mentioned this to the man serving me and he instructed someone to find the tyre and replace the old spare in the back. I thanked them, paid and drove away – later to find a muddy tyre thrown carelessly in the once freshly vacuumed boot of my car, along with all the tools they’d used from my car kit left dirty and unpacked. As well as this, they had rummaged through my glove box to find the ‘lock nut key’, leaving things on the floor and chair. It was a mess, and its fair to say that I was pretty annoyed… after all, I was paying them a fair bit more than I’d bargained for.

On a closer assessment of my feelings, I’m probably more embarrassed than angry about them going through my glove box. It’s laziness that makes me upset about the dirty tyre in my boot, it was a last minute request to keep one of the old tyres as a spare, and it was pretty close to closing time. Although it’s poor customer service, I’m trying to learn how to be gracious. Not getting mad at people for driving slowly, not judging people for their actions (no matter how frustrating they are) and striving to be more like Jesus.

Psalm 145:8 says, “The LORD is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and rich in love.”

We’re all human, we all make mistakes and we all deserve to forgive and be forgiven… especially when it’s just over mud and a bit of mess.

— Lauren x

5 Comments Add yours

  1. This is good! God is so gracious to us despite all of our crudeness towards him. We absolutely must learn to reflect the same towards all we encounter every day.

  2. Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Dont know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  3. I relate so well to this- thank you for humbly sharing!

  4. Rebeca Jones says:

    Wise words! Thanks for the follow on my blog. I am loving what I’m reading here–you are a wonderful writer! I look forward to exploring more. Grace and peace to you!

Leave a Reply

