The Changing Seasons • Reflections

Times are changing…

2015/03/img_2575.jpg

As I sat on a Sydney train yesterday for an hour and a half, diary open on my lap, pen between my teeth and mind all over the place, I had the sudden realisation that this year is one of the most uncertain years of my life so far. Never have I faced so much change in 365 exciting, crazy and ‘new’ kind of days.

I’m one of these people who takes life one big event at a time. For example, being a November birthday, I can never contemplate the idea of Christmas until my birthday’s over, & when it’s February and there’s hot cross buns in the shops, I try my best to ignore them until March.

Everything over the last few months has been Europe-oriented, and I could manage thinking as far as our wedding that’s coming up in July (130 days away, but who’s counting?) and beyond that was a somewhat uncertain cloud of nothing but the hopeful expectation of marital bliss and a perfect job opportunity. Sitting there with my diary open on my lap, I began to realise that there are another 166 days after the 18th of July that I hadn’t given much thought to, and I had no idea what God had planned for us. With Peter’s post graduate studies on the horizon, searching for a job that fits a pretty specific brief, and knowing that we may have to move and start again, creates a long list of unknowns that frankly, scare me a lot more than I thought they would.

In reflection, the comforting thing about change is that it’s never totally foreign – it’s been there, it just hasn’t been big enough or scary enough to take control of my life. As I think about change and the foundations of my life, I’m reminded that the core stuff is never going to change – and maybe I need a bit of change shaking up my life to rely on those unchanging foundations.

Hebrews 13:8 – “Jesus Christ is the same, yesterday, today and forever.”

I love the way the bible gives us a little slap of encouragement sometimes. Joshua 1:9 starts by saying, “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous.” I feel like he’s saying, “you silly girl… I’ve told you these things but you never listen. You can be stronger and more capable than you think if you have a little faith.” It finishes with a gentle, “Do not be frightened and do not be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”

I’ll get back to the Europe stories soon, but I thought I’d share that reflection in the meantime. Let me know if you have any reflections of your own in this area – I’d love to hear them so we can encourage each other with our experiences!

Lauren x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ruthsgirl99 says:

    I just want to start out by saying that i love how you fit the bible into your own words to make them personnal. I under stand how you feel in a way, my life was growing strong in God and i could see everything “I thought He was going to do.” (that’s not how it goes i found out.) Then my Grandmother passes, we move, my school grows increasingly along with oldest daughter expectation’s, my mother has a baby, and now we are trusting God to put us in a home. I freak out and get scard because right now we are in God’s hands and at His mercies, but that is where we are suppose to be, that is where the Isrealites were when they left Egypt and because they didn’t truly rely on God they missed out…I don’t really want to let my selfish uncertainties to ruin God’s plan for my family and I’s life. Your scripture translation for Joshua hit me and gave me comfort. Thank you. Know that the Godly Succeed!!

  2. Lauren, the challenges of life are always points of discovery, gifts of understanding and the building blocks of faith. Without change we remain stuck. I love the way you write and share your life. Keep it up!

  3. Hi Lauren, when I was sixteen, my parents decided to emigrate to a new land. I remember the lump of sadness in my heart that I was leaving all my school mates and everything familiar behind but the possibilities of what lay ahead quickly filled my heart with excitement and overcame the sadness on the flight over. This is just one of many changes I have had to face and I certainly can relate to the feelings that are like a two-sided coin. Take care, Liz.

Leave a Reply

